Recipients of the Gloria Santini Award

Previous winners of the Gloria Santini Memorial Award include: Janet Brady 2004, Carol Devine 2002, Dick Winter 2000, and Cricket Fox 1998.

Heather Fisher - Recipient of the Gloria Santini Award (2005)

Heather Fisher was presented with the Gloria Santini Memorial Award, for her determination and perseverance in promoting organ donor awareness, at the annual CTA National Board meeting in Montreal, February 18, 2006.

Heather has distinguished herself as an ambassador of organ and tissue donation awareness through her involvement in many organizations, as well as through her participation in World Transplant Games.

As a liver transplant recipient of 23 years Heather is committed to ensuring lives are saved through donation and transplantation and is an inspiration to many. Through her dedication toward promoting the values and mission of the Canadian Transplant Association, nationally and internationally, Heather keeps the memory of Gloria alive in our hearts. Congratulations Heather!

Previous winners of the Gloria Santini Memorial Award include: Janet Brady 2004, Carol Devine 2002, Dick Winter 2000, and Cricket Fox 1998.

Special Award for a Very Special Person

At the Gala Dinner in (St. John’s Newfoundland) the ‘Gloria Santini Award’ was presented to Carol Devine by last years winner, Dick Winter. This award was created as a tribute to the late Gloria Santini, who was one of the founders of the Canadian Transplant Association. (At that time it was called the Canadian Transplant Games Association). She felt that recipients wanted to show the World that organ donation works, and dedicated many hours bringing others into the group to attend Provincial Games and to participate at the World Transplant Games showing that a healthy normal life is there after receiving a transplant.

The Award only goes to a person who has worked within the Regional or National level of the CTA promoting Organ Donation and building on the future of the CTA. The selection of the person most deserving to be honoured with this Award is done by the membership and by ballot.

Previous holders of this Award have been Cricket Fox from Vancouver, BC and Dick Winter from Brampton, ON.

Carol was chosen from a group of three very select and deserving candidates, who, like Carol, give many hours of their time, without complaint, working with the CTA and helping to achieve its goals. Carol Devine lives in Newfoundland but her name is known by many around the world from the many times of participating at World Games. We congratulate Carol Devine, recipient of the ‘2002 Gloria Santini Award’.

‘Provincial Award’

By tradition, the Province that hosts the National Games also has a chance to name an outstanding achiever within their group. It is not surprising that her peers in Newfoundland, also felt that Carol was the person to receive the Provincial Award. This award was presented by Janet Brady, President of the CTA, at the Gala Dinner.